My Messy Heart and The Ugly Monster…

Colossians 3:1-17

The other day I opened my bible to read James and I just wasn’t feeling it.  Nothing of what I read spoke to my heart, my soul.  I seriously just wasn’t feeling it.  I flipped a few pages back and by “chance”, some call it “coincidence” (I call it God) I landed on Colossians chapter 3.  As I read, my heart began to stir and my soul was awakened.  (You can click the bible reference to read it for yourself)

See, the past few weeks I have been dealing with an ugly monster that I thought I had already dealt with and conquered in my life.  The monster was rearing its ugly head again and I felt powerless to it.  I was questioning myself…doubting myself.  “Why in the world am I dealing with this again?”  “What is it about me that I am lacking?”  I think that right there was my problem!

I was…as I have a tendency to do…trying to conquer this monster on my own.  Not only that…I was focusing way too much on myself.  Look back at the questions I asked myself.  I wasn’t inquiring God about what He thought or what He had to say.  I was trying to analyze myself and fix the problem in my own strength.

Just the day before, I went to church and the message that was taught was about spending quiet time with God and asking God His thoughts about situations, people, or circumstances in our lives.  As I sat down to read James that day….I asked God what He thought about the monster that was showing up in my life again….and that is when He led me to Colossians 3.

Let me give you a listed view of what I felt God speak to me:

  1. My sighting was off!  I was focusing on what my problem was and not on what God’s solution was.  I was making it all about me!  (Talk about a messy life!)
  2. I had forgotten that I was dead!  I was acting as if the life I used to live was the life I live now.  I wasn’t hiding myself, my identity in Christ.
  3. I didn’t kill the monster that resurrected!  Instead of immediately killing or putting to death the sinful nature, I acted on it.

What a lesson to learn! 

Talk about the OUCH factor!!  The truth hurts!  But that’s what I love about God’s Word…it is THE truth and it hurts us enough to get us back to where God wants us to be!  See, we all have a messy heart.  The bible says that it is deceitful and desperately wicked!  (Jeremiah 17:9)  How could we ever think that we have “made it” or that we are above sin when our hearts are so messed up?

Are you facing a sin in your life that you thought you had already conquered?  Do you feel defeated in dealing with sin?  Here are just a few things you can do to head in the right direction:

  • Tell God about it!  Don’t try to speak this eloquent prayer…just be real with God.  He already knows how messed up your heart is!
  • Ask God what He thinks about what you are dealing with and then go a step further and take the time to listen.
  • Confess your sin to another Christian (OMG…this one is scary isn’t it?  Tell people your faults?  Are you crazy!?)  The word says in James 5:16 “Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and produces wonderful results.”
  • Put the monster to death…don’t feed it…starve the sin your life!  This one is exceptionally difficult. Our spirit is willing to deal with the sin in our hearts but our flesh is weak!  Remember…one step at a time!
  • Ask for forgiveness!  Don’t only ask God to forgive you…but also ask those whom your actions may have hurt.  And remember to forgive yourself…sometimes we forget this step…and usually it’s the one that hinders us the most from moving forward!
  • Let the message of Christ, in all its richness, fill your life (Colossians 3:16)  Read your bible…stay in the Word.  It is a message of hope, healing, deliverance, provision, and love for the most messiest of hearts!

Jesus, please help us to conquer the sin in our lives.  We can’t do it without you!  I pray for wisdom, insight, and strength in dealing with our messy hearts.  I thank you for your Word that brings life and hope!  In Your Name, Amen!

Leave a Reply

