A Word Worth Waiting For…

1 John 15:14-15 “And we are confident that he hears us whenever we ask for anything that pleases him. And since we know he hears us when we make our requests, we also know that he will give us what we ask for.”

At the beginning of 2012, I asked God to give me a word for the year.  Daily I waited patiently to hear His voice as I sought His face through prayer and the Word.  After about a month of praying and seeking, I was getting a bit impatient and my prayers went from…”God, speak to my heart what you want to do in me this year” …to…”God, could my word be_______?”

Maybe, just maybe God needed me to help Him figure out what I really needed instilled within me.  I mean, who can know me better than me?  Right?

“God maybe my word can be love.” I would say, “I have always looked for love in all the wrong places, until I found You.”

“Oh, God! I know!  How about righteous?” I would inquire, “Everyone could a use a little more righteousness in their lives.”

“Okay, Okay, Okay.” I would tease with my hands raised in surrender, “You might want to teach me faith.”

This went on for awhile, and I was beginning to think that God wasn’t going to give me a word for this year.  Maybe He would…but do it in the 11th hour…or the 11th month as some funny joke.  I finally gave  up giving God my suggestions and I just said to Him, “God, if you want me to have a word this year just let me know what it is.”

And with that…it was settled.

One evening, I was on the phone with a friend sharing about a circumstance I was faced with (not the one I’m writing about now), and she spoke something to me that blew my mind.  She said, “Cherie, I believe God wants you to have confidence in Him.”  Little did my friend know, at that very moment she being the voice of God in my life.  As soon as she spoke the word ‘confidence’, I knew.

Although, it wasn’t the word that I would have chosen for myself, God knew exactly what I needed this year.  He knows my past, and where I have come from.  The insecurities I have faced, the doubt I have lived.  He knows of the fear that has seized me, the panic I have hidden.  He knows all those places where I have felt not good enough.  He knows the beginning to my lack of confidence and He knows where my confidence will end!

Why it took God the time it took  to answer my prayer, I don’t know.  For me, I think it was the beginning of my journey to Confidence in Him.  My start.

He had heard my initial prayer…and was pleased.  In His timing…He gave me what I asked for.

Has God given you a word for 2012?  If so, please share how God spoke to you the word He wanted you to have.

On a side note, a friend of mine paints beautiful art with water color.  I asked her if she would paint a picture representing the word God gave me…and the painting on this post was what she came up with.  Thank you Kathy for this wonderful piece of art that will always hang on my wall, and in the wall of my heart!

With all my love,

Cherie

Leave a Reply

