Are You Spiritually Dehydrated?

Water is the most essential compound to life on Earth.  Our bodies are made up of 60-70% of H2O…and the Earth is 70-75% water.  Experts say in order to maintain a healthy state of hydration we must drink at least 64 oz. a day of this wonderful element.  However, my drink of choice is a good ol’ Coca Cola!  When I feel thirsty….I pop a coke!  I love the bubbly carbonation as it tickles my throat!  I know it’s sad…but I am addicted!

Recently, I made a decision to drink more water.  I told myself that before I could drink a coke, I would have to drink at least two (16 oz) bottles of water.  That would mean I would have drank half of my daily supply needed!  As I began to  do this…I found myself craving water over coke!

How weird!!

On the days when I failed to stick with my decision and all I drank was coke…I found myself feeling sluggish and dry by the end of the day.

I found myself dehydrated!

What are some signs of dehydration?

  • Sleepiness
  • Deep Dryness
  • Headache
  • Dizziness
  • Decrease in output
  • Thirst

As I thought about these signs…I wondered if any of us are ever concerned about our spiritual hydration?  Are we drinking enough of the spirit to keep us from being dehydrated?  Are we even concerned with our lack of living water?

What are some signs of Spiritual Dehydration?

  • Sleepiness (Proverbs 26:14)
  • Deep Dryness (Ezekiel 37:2)
  • Thirst (Psalm 107:5)

Just as our physical bodies become dehydrated when we don’t consume enough water….our spirits become dehydrated when we don’t consume the living Water.

John 7:37 says “On the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried out, saying, “If anyone thirsts, let him come to Me and drink.”

To overcome spiritual dehydration we must drink of the Living Water!

Jesus say in John 4:14 “but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Are you thirsty today? 

Leave a Reply

