Folgers at the Feet

Every morning I do my best to spend some time with Jesus before I start my day.  Some days it’s a hit…other days, I miss!  This morning was a hit…I woke up early and fixed me a cup of coffee…yes and added my Almond Joy creamer!  I love my Almond Joy creamer!  I call these times, my “Folgers at the Feet” mornings.  If you are familiar with the jingle….let’s sing it together…”The best part of waking up is Folgers in your cup…”  I would like to add a line to that infamous jingle, it would go a little something like this: “The best part of waking up is Folgers in your cup and a seat at my Savior’s feet!”  Silly, I know…but it works!…at least on the days I wake up early enough!

I woke up this morning and just felt burdened.  I felt heavy…have you ever felt that way?  You know the feeling…not sure what is bothering you…but it’s weighing heavy on your heart?  As I grabbed my coffee and my bible, I sat at the kitchen table and prayed a simple prayer (fancy words don’t impress God…just simple heart felt ones).  I just said to God, “Lord, please speak to my heart.”  I really meant it too…I really wanted Him to speak to that burden in my heart.

I didn’t get some “super-spiritual” voice from the Heavens…or some kind of “being taken up in the Spirit” revelation.  I just simply opened my bible to a book and started reading…I turned to Philippians chapter 4.  As I got down to verse eight…my heart started softening and the burden I felt started becoming  clear.

Philippians 4:8 reads “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy-meditate on these things.”

As I sat at the table, I realized my focus has been off…the things I had been meditating on were not those things that would bring the peace of God.  I had been focusing on “earthly” things….let’s turn a few pages to Colossians 3:2.

“Set your mind on things above, not on earthly things.”

My struggle was not so much about my focus being off…but that I wasn’t being honest with where my focus has been.  I was playing the pretend game…trying to convince myself and God that I was this really “good” Christian in the midst of all the worry, doubt, and emotions I have been feeling.

Honestly, I was feeling a bit afraid that God wouldn’t love me if He really knew what I was focusing on…this makes me laugh writing it!  I know, that I know, that I know, that God already knows what my focus has been…He knew long before this moment that I would struggle with this….and yet He loves me!

However, I guess I was afraid of acknowledging it to God…why do we do that?  Or is it just me?  I don’t have that part figured out yet…maybe I didn’t want to disappoint God…I don’t know.

After asking God’s help to keep my heart and mind focused on Heavenly things….I struggled all day with keeping focused!

Please laugh with me…because if any of you have ever dealt with your sin, your lack, your issues and so on…you know once you acknowledge it, then you begin to really see it!  I was once in the dark that my focus was off…now that the “issue” came to the light, I see it!

Lord, thank you for my “Folgers at the Feet” moments!  I pray that you would help me to keep my focus on Heavenly things…not on the things I have been focusing on.  God, help me to think on such things as in Philippians 4:8.  Renew my mind, Oh God, so I will be able to test and approve what your perfect will is for my life.

What about you?  Has your focus been off?  Will you join me this week in being diligent and purposeful in keeping our minds focused on Heavenly things?

 

4 thoughts on “Folgers at the Feet

  1. I love this post, Cherie. You are so honest with God and I believe God just loves that. He can work with that. You are humbling yourself at the Saviour’s feet, and that is what he’s waiting for. God bless you for sharing your struggles because we are all struggling with something and we need to encourage each other.
    Barbara 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Barbara! I am learning that being honest in my messy hopefulness…it brings hope to others messes. I am done with trying to make things out to be better than what they are…we, especially the Church, need to become honest with ourselves and with God…and to those around us! It’s not easy being a Christian…and it’s a lot harder not being one! However, as we show the world that we struggle to and in our struggle we put our hope in Christ…then they may find that hope as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

