Behavior Analyst

One of my most favorite T.V. shows of all time is Criminal Minds!  I am even a fan on Facebook!  It’s sad, I know!  However, I am obsessed with it!  I have started to buy the series on DVD.  I am intrigued by the intelligence of the BAU (Behavior Analysis Unit).  These guys are made up of some of the most gifted people I have seen.  This team of profilers analyzes the behavior of criminals and when they have their profiles they set out to capture the bad guy!

My most favorite character is Dr. Spenser Reid.  He is an absolute genius that graduated from high school when he was 12!  He has earned PhD’s in Mathematics, Chemistry and Engineering.  He also has BA’s in Phycology and Sociology.  He is BRILLIANT!  His IQ is a 187, which is higher than Einstein’s.  Reid also has an eidetic memory where he can recall images, and sounds from memory.  They use this part of his personality to bring humor to the show.

I  know that Criminal Minds is a fictional show…even though I think Morgan and Garcia should get married (hint hint CBS).  However, the FBI does have a Behavior Analysis Unit, and there are people out there who are unequivocally intelligent like Spenser Reid.  I have been thinking about this show a lot for the past few days as I feel the need to analyze some of my own behavior. 

The bible tells us in 2 Corinthians 13:5 “Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you—unless, of course, you fail the test?”  Paul was speaking to his accusers that constantly questioned his apostleship.  He told the Corinthians that if they examined their faith and found that they are in Christ, then his apostleship was genuine as well since Paul was their spiritual father.  I believe every Christian should find time to analyze their lives and see if they are in the faith.  We need to take a good look at our behaviors to see if they line up with the word of God. 

In this crime scene of a life we live there is a real criminal that wants to murder our souls.  His name is Satan and he has been analyzed from the beginning of time by the Chief Supervisory Special Agent Jesus.  Chief Jesus knows his every move, his every tactic and has already made every resource available for us to overcome this ancient enemy.  What we need to do is open up the crime scenes of our lives to Chief Jesus and ask him to do a thorough investigation of our hearts. 

The Message Bible says it so clearly.  Psalm 139:23 “Investigate my life, O God, find out everything about me; Cross-examine and test me, get a clear picture of what I’m about; See for yourself whether I’ve done anything wrong— then guide me on the road to eternal life.”

We need to lay everything bare before the Lord and ask him to reveal to us what we need to change.  Will you join me in becoming part of the GAU, the God Analysis Unit?  Let’s allow the Holy Spirit to investigate our hearts, the crime scenes of life, and show us where we are not walking in His ways.  Let’s give God permission to examine us and test us in those places that are hidden from the world.  We may not be highly intelligent people with IQ’s of 187, nor have multiple PhD’s; However, we do have a Father in heaven who loves us and wants us to become more like Him.  Will you join the GAU?

Leave a Reply

