Praying the Word

Isaiah 55:8~11

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways” declares the Lord.  “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thought than your thoughts.  As the rain and the snow come down from heaven and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”

 

As I sat in my room Saturday night in anticipation for Sunday morning worship, I read Isaiah 55:8~11.  Little did I know what would transpire Sunday morning during service.  I didn’t know what the pastor would preach about.  I didn’t know that God was going to speak to my heart about what I had just read.  I didn’t know that I would go to altar and receive a touch from God.  I didn’t know, but I went expecting.

The whole time the pastor was preaching, God’s words from Isaiah kept coming to mind.  Just like the rain and snow come down to water the earth…and it does not return until it has done so…God’s word goes forth and does not return to Him until its purpose is fulfilled…until it has accomplished what it was sent forth to do.

So many times we forget that God’s word is alive and active…it says in Hebrews 4:12 “For the word of God is alive and active.  Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.”

God’s Word is a powerful weapon in our hands, yet so many times we forget to use that piece of our armor.  (Ephesians 6:17 “Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God

Not only is God’s word a powerful weapon…so are our words.  In Proverbs 18:21 it says “The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.”

I write all these verses not only to share with you, but to remind myself…mainly to remind myself!  Honestly, I am facing some things right now that I never thought I would have to face.  For the past few months, I have felt utterly hopeless in the circumstances I am faced with.  And like any child, I needed reminding.  I needed to remember that I have the power within me to make things different. 

That power is not a power of my own doing.  It’s Christ’s power within me…its God’s Word in me that has the power.  His Word, when spoken out of my mouth to the circumstances, problems, and situations I face, will not return back to God without accomplishing what it was sent forth to do.

When circumstances and situations come into our lives that seem bigger than we can handle, harder than we can bear, hopeless beyond repair…we must remember to send forth God’s Word into those places…send out life into those valleys, send out our weapon that has the power to divide and conquer!

If you have never heard of this concept…it’s called praying the Word!  Instead of coming up with our own words to pray to God…pray God’s Word instead…it is much more effective and His Word is His will …so we can never fail!

Okay, so here’s the “How To” in praying God’s Word.  I would recommend using a Bible Promise book (all the work of finding the scriptures have been done for you, plus all the scriptures for a particular area is put into catergories…like all scripture on marriage is put together…it’s a great tool)

All you have to do in Praying God’s Word is find the scriptures that have to deal with what you are facing and pray them…literally read the verses over and over until you believe them…until they become a part of who you are!

You can write out a prayer incorporating the verses and read your prayer.

The most important thing to remember in praying God’s Word is that when we speak His Word over our circumstances, we are sending His Word to perform what God designed for it.  His Word will not come back to Him until it has accomplished what it was set forth to do. 

We may not see the fruit of what we are speaking right away…but one day we will eat its fruit.  I would rather eat the sweetness of God’s Word than the bitter taste of my own.

His thoughts and ways are much higher than our thoughts and ways…we may not understand or see how Praying God’s Word will change our situations…but I can guarentee this:  It WILL change you…it will line your thoughts up with the way God thinks of you and your cicumstances…it will line up how you react to what you are facing!

10 thoughts on “Praying the Word

    1. Thank you so much! I am praying that as I share what God shows me, others would find truth, encouragement, and hope. Thank you again for your encouragement!

      Like

  1. I love how you put everything into such simplicity. The idea of using a Bible promise book … fabulous!

    You encourage so many … let yourself be encouraged by these words you’ve just shared with all of us. God WILL make a way; He will NEVER let you down; He ALWAYS keeps His promises!

    Blessings!
    Wendy

    Like

  2. Awesome post, Cherie. What came to mind is the verse I am meditating on today: “It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes. The law of thy mouth is better unto me than thousands of gold and silver.” Psalm 119:71-72

    Like

  3. beautiful words and very inspiring. I pray that they penetrate deep into my heart, let God talk to me and take charge of my life in all the days of my life.

    Like

  4. I like that..using a promise book to pray the word of God. I stumble sometimes because I’m not good with scripture memorization. I think I have a promise book at home, that I will incorporate in to my pray time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

