Be My Guest: Barbara Frone

Today’s devotional is written by a friend of mine, Barbara Frone.  Barbara is a wife, mother, and grandmother who lives in Fairbanks, Alaska.  She has been a Christian for 21 years and attends Bible Baptist Church in Fairbanks.  Two years ago, she felt inspired by God to write a book entitled “My Journey with God”, which is her personal testimony about how God reached into her heart and showed her that all she needed was Him. 

Grab a cup of coffee and let’s take a look at what Barbara says about condemnation… 

Do You Feel Like A Failure?

 

“Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life.”  John 5:24

I have been a Christian for 21 years, but have felt like a failure for 20 of those years.  I used to feel guilty all the time for either not doing right or for not doing enough.  There was always something to feel guilty about.  About a year ago, God took me down a path that has changed my life.  He taught me that the feeling I felt was condemnation.  Condemnation makes us feel like a failure and we want to run away from God.  He taught me that he gently convicts our hearts when he wants to correct us about something and conviction makes us want to run to God for help. 

I have good news for you.  God loves you just the way you are.  If you sold everything today to become a missionary, he wouldn’t love you anymore than he loves you right now.  Are you still going to sin?  Yes.  Are you still going to fail God?  Yes, but God does not deal with our sin anymore.  He dealt with our sin at the cross.

“For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more.”  Hebrews 8:12 

You may be wondering why it took God so long to teach me this.  My answer would be that I was so busy serving him that I had no time or at least not much time to spend with him in prayer and in his word.  God says to earnestly seek him and he will show us all things.  If you want to know God’s will for your life and what he has for you, you have to spend time with him in prayer and in his word every day.  While you are doing this, God will open up your eyes to things you have never seen before.  He will transform your mind into thinking like him.  He will teach you, gently guide you, comfort you, and correct you.  God has a plan for your life, but you have to earnestly seek him every day and read his word to find out what he has just for you.  The choice is yours.  God doesn’t force any of this on you, but whatever you choose, remember that God loves you just the way you are. 

“And be not conformed to this world; but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”  Romans 12:2

 Barbara Frone

To follow more of Barbara’s devotions and stories, you can visit her blog @ http://adayinmylifewithgod.blogspot.com/

Share with us how you have struggled with condemnation or feeling like you have to earn God’s love.  How has this devotion helped you today?

4 thoughts on “Be My Guest: Barbara Frone

  1. You have no idea how much this ministered to me today. Boy, did it hit home. Thank you for sharing and letting me know I’m not alone in my struggles. I identified with so much of what you shared. It truly was what God wanted me to see today. Thank you!

    Like

    1. Condemnation is something we all deal with and it can be so crippling! The enemy wants to continue to remind us of our shortcomings and failures and our past to keep us from moving forward in our walk with God and what God has for our life! I am so glad you were ministered to today through this devotion!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

